Tags

, , ,

 I grew up on a TV diet of Thundercats, Battle of the Planets, Transformers, She-Ra and Dungeons & Dragons to name but a few so is it any wonder I get my kicks from Sci-Fi and Fantasy? Okay, we can all look back with rose-tinted glasses but there was definitely something in the water back then.

 The 80’s were filled with hope. It was often ridiculous hope, always brash and sometimes misguided, but it was prevalent and that rubbed off on me as a child. When all else fails, there’s always hope. 

 I’m thankful that the 80’s nurtured my imagination. There was nothing superficial about those cartoons, when they made a point, they did it with bravado. The 80’s taught me that where there’s hope, there’s a future. We’re all assaulted by tragedy in our lives in one form or another and it’s up to us to deal with that. You make a choice whether to survive or whether to wallow in self-doubt. 80’s children always survive, it’s in our DNA. 

So thank you, 1980’s, you made me what I am today. I’d like to end this post with some group laughter (for no apparent reason), and a fade out…

You had to be there.

