Tags

,

 I suppose I should explain the title of this blog. It occurred to me that I’ve been attracted to writing since my early teens and no matter how many times I try and escape its hold, it pulls me back in. Whether it’s been weeks, months or years, I always find myself with that insistent urge to write. It often comes out of nowhere, sneaks up on me and chips away at me until I finally sit down and get those thoughts on screen. The longer I leave it, the more distracted I become. It’s a funny thing, writing. 

 Hence the title. Like the Hotel California, you can check out any time but you can never leave. 

 So perhaps I ought to do something about this persistent urge to write. Maybe I should publish? It’s a scary prospect. Writing for pleasure is a very different beast compared to writing as a profession. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. I’m not looking to become a multi-national bestseller. That’s not what this is about. I’m just looking for an outlet. Something to keep me motivated and to drive me forward. With twenty years of writing for myself, it’s time for a change.Image

